New blog name

I was never completely happy with “Geodoctor”, but it reflected two big topics that were preoccupying me three years ago: health and geosciences. I believed that without some narrowing of the remit, I would find it impossible to sit down and write anything focused. Perhaps restricting the areas of interest would make the whole blogging endeavour seem more manageable, and bringing together two seemingly disparate subjects seemed like a good project.

I think it worked, to a point. I’ve kept it going intermittently and more or less on-topic, although stunning insights and big audiences have both been lacking. At least it’s allowed me to continue writing when other outlets have dried up. In blogging terms I’ve dipped my toes in the water, and even paddled a little in the shallow end.

But things have changed over the last three years. Health and geosciences remain important concerns— expect further posts on these topics, if only because one area remains central to my working life, and the other still figures as a major interest— but with a more accommodating title I should feel free to put fingers to keyboard on a broader range of topics. The new title gives me permission to wander around a little more, and I hope this will lead to more frequent posts. With only a very limited amount of writing time, I can’t afford to limit myself to particular subject areas.

Having said that, part of me hopes that some unifying thread will emerge over time. If it does, it wouldn’t surprise me if the human health/ geosciences intersection is part of it.

Let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

